News Reports May-June 2021

Annual General Meeting 2021

On 22 May Pax Christ held its second on-line Annual General Meeting 60+ members and supporters attending. The AGM provides the Pax Christi team and Executive Committee with an opportunity to share something of the work over the past year, re-elect/elect new people to the Executive Committee and affirm the work through prayer.

Executive Committee: Joan Sharples was elected Vice-Chair, Margaret Pitt was elected Treasurer and Henrietta Cullinan was re-elected for a further two years. Other members of the Executive Committee are: Ann Farr – Chair, then Fr Joe Ryan, Maria Lee and Matt Jeziorski. Paul McGowan is a co-opted member.

Full report of the AGM can be found here, from Ellen Teague

Peace medal created by the artist Natasha Ratcliffe

Pax Christi Peace Award 2021

Every two years Pax Christi presents an award to individuals or groups who have shown commitment to work for peace and social justice. This year the Award was given to Ellen Teague and John Williams In recent years the award has gone to Fr Joe Ryan, then Chair of Westminster J&P, Eleanor and Anna Marshall, peace & justice activists from Hallam Diocese, Nan Saeki, former Treasurer of Pax Christi and member of Middlesbrough J&P and Rev G Nagase of the Nipponzan Myohoji Buddhist order.
Full report of their nominations and their acceptance from Pat Gaffney

We are delighted that Bruce Kent and Dr Valerie Flessati, Vice Presidents of Pax Christi England and Wales, have been awarded The Lambeth Cross for Ecumenism. “For exceptional, tireless and lifelong dedication to the Christian ecumenical search for peace, both individually and together.” Congratulations to them both for this well deserved recognition.


Permanent link to this article: